Rubin serving on jury to select Best Mauritian Scientist Award recipient

Jonathan Rubin, director of the Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center and professor of economics, is serving on a three-member jury to select the recipient of the Best Mauritian Scientist Award. The award is an initiative of the Ministry of Technology, Innovation and Communication and is managed by the Mauritius Research Council. The government-approved award, which recognizes an individual for their work in science, will be presented this year on Dec. 12. A story about the first award recipient is online. As part of the nationally televised event on Monday, Rubin will speak about his research and the potential for Mauritius to increase its uptake of renewable energy.