Land Acknowledgement

The College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture at the University of Maine recognizes that its presence throughout what is now known as the State of Maine is located in the homeland of the Wabanaki Tribal Nations (Maliseet, Micmac, Passamaquoddy, and Penobscot) where issues of water and territorial rights, and encroachment upon sacred sites, are ongoing. The college also recognizes that the Wabanaki Tribal Nations are distinct, sovereign, legal and political entities with their own powers of self-governance and self-determination.